First (real) ride of spring

bike_shadow

First ride of the season – Toronto to Oakville (and back):
Total distance: 103km
Avg Speed: 28km/h
# of Red lights: 1 million

It’s great to see your winter training pay off on your first ride of the season!  I’ve been riding to work all winter but it’s only 5km each way.  I do this about 7x/wk over 5 days, amounting to about 70km altogether.  It’s better than nothing.  I’ve also been riding the Wattbike 3x/wk for an hour at a time.  It’s an over priced piece of crap (IMHO), but that’s another story.  Those rides add about 110 more km to my weekly total, depending on the workout, still not a lot, but I wondered if it would be enough to allow me to pick up where I left off last fall without having to ramp back up again.

So with the promise of temperatures rising to 6C I downed my espresso and set off on my fixed gear bike with the sun still low in the sky, casting a long shadow before me as I headed west along the shores of Lake Ontario.  The temperature was just below freezing, around -2C, and my fingers, just above freezing, just…

I traveled south through town, going briefly east down the very chilly Rosedale Valley Rd, eventually hopping on the bike path until around Ontario Place, and taking the Lakeshore the rest of the way to Oakville (and back).

Last year I felt the need to ramp up gradually to that distance, so this season is off to a good start!  🙂

See you on the road.

 

 

 

 

 

About eatpedalpaddle

I am an avid cyclist, canoeist, personal trainer, holistic lifestyle coach and certified nutritional practitioner in Toronto, Ontario.

Leave a Reply

