Snowshoeing in Toronto

With 25cm (10″) of snow arriving late last week it was time to drag my snowshoes out of storage.  With so much snow in town and the roads a mess it wasn’t even worth renting a car to head north in search of trails to hike.  Luckily Toronto has a huge green belt running right through it, so I threw on some layers, grabbed my snowshoes and took the bus to Wilket Creek Park at Leslie and Eglinton to get started.

I took a pile of these shots, where long shadows and high contrast kept catching my eye.  You can make out some of the tracks from squirrels, mice and other little critters that dot the snow.

Long shadows in the snow while snowshoeing

I am amazed that, despite being surrounded by 6 million other people in the GTA (Greater Toronto Area), I appear to be the only one who thought to venture into the trails last Saturday morning.  I had the place to myself!

I followed the mountain bike trails south, through the woods, often high above Wilket Creek.  The trail offers some wonderful views of the park.  This trail comes to an end where the creek goes under the park’s service road (as you approach Don Mills Rd).  Although, if you’d care to double the distance, you can easily continue all the way down to Pottery Rd.  I turned around at this point, returning along the other side of the creek, through the open spaces adjacent to the paved Don Trail.

A coyote crosses a foot bridge and heads up the trail...

A coyote crosses a foot bridge and heads up the trail…

I did eventually pass a few cross-country skiers, but the cold temperatures early Saturday morning (-20C/-4F) must have kept most outdoor enthusiasts at home.

IMG_4649

My travels take me past a spot that most Torontonians will find hard to believe is right in the middle of town.  This pond sits right behind the Ontario Science Centre, and just a few hundred meters from one of the busiest intersections in town.  You feel as though you are out in the middle of no where.  The sounds of the city are absent.  I sit and enjoy the moment over a cup of hot tea that I’ve packed in a thermos.  The silence is broken finally as a snowy owl whistles overhead.  That was my first snowy owl sighting ever!  I didn’t realize that their range extended so far south.  Sorry, no chance to get a picture.IMG_4651

With Valentine’s Day just a few days away, a bent twig and a low light angle offered a perfectly cheesy shot that I couldn’t resist.

IMG_4628b

Here’s what the 5km route looks like in case you’d like to try it out, or for a map that you can zoom in on, click on this link:  http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=5818400

snowshoe_map

Looks can be deceiving though.  There isn’t a straight line to be had through the woods.  The trail cuts back and forth a number of times and there are a quite a few climbs.  Cutting fresh tracks through the mountain bike trails in these conditions is slow going and lots of work.  Expect this 5k route to take at least 2.5 hours.

Bring a friend and have fun.

About eatpedalpaddle

I am an avid cyclist, canoeist, personal trainer, holistic lifestyle coach and certified nutritional practitioner in Toronto, Ontario.

2 responses to “Snowshoeing in Toronto

  1. Snowshoeing is fun but tiring. I tried it one time and did a 7 miler. The route felt endless 😛

    • Yes, it can be a lot of work! And 7 miles is a long way through the snow, longer than my recent hike. Judging by the pictures in your posts I’ll assume that you live somewhere much warmer than Toronto, perhaps a place with few snowshoeing opportunities. Good for you for giving it a try!

Leave a Reply

