Part 1/3: Today’s ride – The Flat

Well, I’ve ramped up my riding this year after a few slow seasons, unfortunately more miles = more flat tires 😦   I’ve had 8 flats so far and my latest was on today’s ride.

I may not be the fastest in the puncture repairs department but things really sped along for me a few years ago once I began to skip the wheel removal.  Yup, just leave your wheel on and pull out the punctured tube along the affected section.  This works really well when you can still hear the air hissing out (and when you have bolt on wheels like me and forgot your wrenches…).

So here I am at the corner of Dupont and Davenport, just 5km into my ride when I noticed my rear tire was a little soft as I’d rounded the corner.  It was 110psi just 10min ago, now it’s down to about 60 and I can hear the air hissing out even over the noise of the traffic.

So as you can see I don’t use the instant peel and patch variety.  I talc all of my tubes so I haven’t had the best of luck with the instant patches.  I use the kind that requires applying glue first.  They do take a bit longer, but they have been much more reliable for me. Total time around 6min including some picture taking…

Onto part II.

About eatpedalpaddle

I am an avid cyclist, canoeist, personal trainer, holistic lifestyle coach and certified nutritional practitioner in Toronto, Ontario.

Leave a Reply

